Google Docs is changing to Google Drive
From 15th November, users who have opted out of Google Drive will be automatically switched over to the new Drive web interface.
Users can still switch back to the old Docs look (by clicking the gears icon and selecting 'Temporarily use the old look"). If users revert to the old look, they will again see the banner advising them that the old look is going away.
From 29th November, all users who have reverted to the old Docs look will be switched to the Drive web interface again for the last time.
At this time, the ability to switch back to the old Docs look will be disabled and the new Drive web interface will be mandatory for all users.
What's the same
If you've used Google Docs, some things in Google Drive will be familiar.
- Create Google Docs by clicking the red Create button.
- Share with exactly who you want — without email attachments.
- Search or sort your list of files, folders, and Google Docs.
- Preview files and Google Docs.
- Collections are now called folders.
- More things have been added to the Settings menu, including upload settings.
- The left navigation has new views:
- My Drive
- Shared with me
- The Home view is gone. Instead, use My Drive to organize all of your files, folders, and Google Docs.